Jul 13, 2012

Kedah and Sabah will know Super League fate next week

PETALING JAYA – By ERIC SAMUEL: The Super League ends tomorrow but Kedah and Sabah’s fight to stay in the top flight continues in the playoffs in Malacca next week.

 The FA of Malaysia (FAM) have decided to reduce the number of teams from 14 to 12 in the Super League next season.

 Armed Forces have already won promotion after winning the Premier League title, with Super League basement side Kuala Lumpur going the other way.

 As such, the Super League’s 11th (not known yet), 12th (Sabah) and 13th (Kedah) placed teams and Premier League runners-up Pahang will fight for the remaining spot in the top flight.

 The 11th-placed team will be decided after the last round of matches tomorrow.

 Four teams are in the danger zone – Sarawak (30pts), Felda United, Johor FC and PKNS FC (32 points each).
 The last round of matches will see Sarawak facing Kelantan, Johor FC meeting Lions XII, Felda United taking on Kedah and PKNS FC playing against T-Team.

 The playoffs are scheduled to be held at the Hang Jebat Stadium from July 17-19. The 11th-placed team will play Pahang (Premier League runners-up) while the other match-up will be between Sabah and Kedah.

 The winning teams will then meet in the final playoffs for the remaining spot in the top flight.

 It’s the same for the 12-team Premier League.

 Champions Armed Forces will be promoted while bottom-placed Johor MBJB will be relegated to the FAM Cup. The 9th, 10th and 11th placed teams will then be involved in the playoffs with Shahzan Muda while FAM Cup winners KL SPA will be promoted to the Premier League. The playoffs will be held at the Hang Tuah Stadium from July 17-19.

 The Malaysia Cup competition will see the top 12 teams from the Super League and the top four from the Premier League taking part.

 The Super League teams who have qualified are Kelantan, Lions XII, Selangor, Perak, Terengganu, Negri Sembilan, T-Team, PKNS, Johor FC, Felda United and Sarawak. The four Premier League sides are Armed Forces, Pahang, Sime Darby FC and Johor.

 Competitions committee chairman Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin said the Super League and Premier League winners – Kelantan and Armed Forces – will receive their trophies before their final round matches.

 FAM vice-president Datuk Subahan Kamal will present the soldiers with the champion’s trophy before they kick off against Pos Malaysia at the Selayang Municipal Council Stadium today.

 Datuk Affandi Hamzah will hand over the trophy to Kelantan before their match against Sarawak at the Sultan Mohd IV Stadium tomorrow.

 Hamidin said the official cheque presentation to the winning teams in the M-League and the Golden Boot winners will be done at Wisma FAM in Kelana Jaya on July 20.

Source news:
The Star

No comments:

Post a Comment


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...